Faculty Engagement

The AAUP Foundation supports faculty engagement in shared governance, academic conferences, and other professional opportunities.

Governance of higher education institutions traditionally has been a responsibility shared by faculty, administrators, and trustees. The AAUP has long emphasized the importance of faculty involvement in personnel decisions, selection of administrators, preparation of the budget, and determination of educational policies. The AAUP Foundation supports work that increases the understanding and efficacy of shared governance in colleges and universities, as well as opportunities for faculty to participate in conferences and workshops on a variety of topics.

Recent Faculty Engagement Grants

  • Covers costs for two events at the 2017 AAUP Annual Conference highlighting the 1967 Joint Statement on Rights and Freedoms of Students. The grant supports a plenary presentation by National Book Award winner Professor Ibram X. Kendi and a showing of A Time to Stir, a documentary film about the 1968 student strike at Columbia University, with a panel discussion to follow. ($6,000, 2017)
  • Supported costs of planning and holding the 2016 AAUP Shared Governance Conference and Workshops and its plenary Neil Rappaport Lecture by Risa Lieberwitz.  The conference was attended by 200 people from over 100 institutions. ($15,000, 2016; $5,000, 2015)
  • Provided scholarships to cover registration costs for the 2016 AAUP Shared Governance Conference and Workshops for faculty likely to broaden the diversity of shared governance on their campuses. Scholarships supported Leah Akins of Dutchess Community College, Kristin Cook-Gailloud of Johns Hopkins University, and Pamela Petrease Felder of the University of Maryland Eastern Shore.
  • Sponsored the 2015 Neil Rappaport Lecture at the AAUP's 2015 Annual Conference on the State of Higher Education. Professor Larry Gerber delivered the opening plenary lecture about the history of the faculty’s role in governance. ($2,000, 2015)
  • Supported registration, travel, or accommodation costs of attending the 2016 AAUP annual meeting for faculty members with contingent appointments. Five scholarships of up to $400 were given to support contingent faculty members who would otherwise find conference costs prohibitive. ($2,000, 2016)
  • Supported travel costs to attend the AAUP annual meeting for members of chapters engaged in advancing the Beatrice G. Konheim Award criteria. Carolyn Fridley of the Southeastern Oklahoma State University AAUP Chapter and Tommy Lucas of the Saint Louis University AAUP Chapter received support for the 2016 annual meeting. David Nalbone of the Purdue University, Calumet, AAUP chapter, Elizabeth Brannon of the University of Rhode Island Graduate Student Association, and Eve Raimon of the University of Southern Maine AAUP chapter received support for the 2015 annual meeting.
  • Supported travel costs for members attending their first AAUP annual meeting. John Wood of the University of Central Oklahoma and Steve Anthony of Georgia State University were nominated by their state conferences to receive support for attending the 2016 annual meeting. Kathryn Kuhn of St. Louis University and Troy Smith of Tennessee Tech University were nominated by their state conferences to receive support for attending the 2015 annual meeting.
  • Supported registration and travel costs for faculty from the University of Wisconsin and Sweet Briar College to attend the 2015 AAUP/AAUP-CBC Summer Institute. Making Summer Institute workshops available to faculty from these institutions was a priority because the challenges to academic freedom, due process, and shared governance they have faced could become models for a national restructuring of higher education. ($8,000, 2015)